Posted by: canthold | June 18, 2007

Rip Tide

I just got back from paradise. My family and my husband’s side of the tree spent a week of full fledged fun on the Garden Isle of Kauai. It was quite an amazing vacation.

The entire week I suffered from a sinus infection, which kind of put a damper on things, but I was fine on the last day of the trip when my normally sun-cautious behavior took a nose dive and I managed to fry my skin to a crisp.

So as I sit here with aloe vera on my shoulders, I can’t help but think about this mess I made when trying to upgrade to a newer version of WordPress. I feel like I was snorkeling alone (a big no-no) and drifted out into a rip tide.

I’m not a computer expert, though I think I know more than the average bear. This may have been the case of just enough rope to hang myself. I tried a few things to undo my catastrophe before my trip, right after it happened when the steps were fresh in my mind. Now, I don’t really have a clue about where to start to fix this as the warm trade winds have already wiped my memory and perspective clean.

I’m leaning towards just starting from scratch and moving forward. Chalk it up to lessons learned, right? As I gain more experience I can figure out how to upload all my previous posts into my now clean database. My attempt to simply restore didn’t work because while I regained all of my previous posts, none of my new ones showed up. It’s terribly frustrating.

But life is like this sometimes, isn’t it? Life moves us forward constantly. Calamities strike, situations turn tide against us, obstacles crop up. Our character is determined not by what we experience but in how we handle that experience. I intend to keep writing and moving forward even though all of my previous work is lost for the time being. (Okay, it’s saved in my backup copies, I just don’t know what to do with them right now.)

As I tell my daughters when they spill milk, “Don’t cry over spilt milk.”

So – I’m going to stop trying to fight the current and swim across to get back to shore. Look for changes in this site as I attempt to bring it back to something more familiar. I should, by now, know a lot more than when I started doing this, so all my trials should lead to less errors this time around. And I probably won’t be upgrading for about 100 years – though now that I know how to backup, I’ll do that a lot  more.

Leave a Reply

Categories

