Posted by: canthold | July 9, 2007

Tour de Force

How about that Tour? I haven’t watched today’s coverage yet, which I assume is already available (it’s Monday and I’m waiting for the coffee to kick in,) but I’ll get to it later on.

The first two days were exciting with come-from-behind extraordinary feats. First, in the Prologue, when everyone kept coming up short of the best time, Cancellara whips through, destroying the day’s best by around 13 seconds.

Then in the first stage, Robbie McEwen comes-from-behind and flies by everyone to win. Unbelievable! Imagine what it took to be behind the peloton, catch them, work through them, then zip past all the sprinters who are giving it their very best to win.

It makes me wonder what we are really capable of doing.

When I was in the Army, I learned that my body was able to do so much more than my mind thought it could. I accomplished some road marches that I never would have dreamed I could complete. These experiences contributed to the conviction that there is nothing I can’t do.

Isn’t it true that our minds will lead the way? That most of our struggles with the obstacles in our lives are truly mental blocks? Most people look at things others do and say, “I could never do that.” They said that to me all the time when I told them I was in the Army. And it’s true that we did some very hard  things, but I, as a slight girl on the physically wimpy side, did everything that I needed to do to survive, then succeed, in the Army. If I could do it, anyone could.

Lest you think that this is a recruiting post, the real point is to celebrate the amazing physical and mental accomplishments of the competitors of the Tour de France. And to remind us that we have that same capability within us.

When I grumble at the (too high) number on my scale, I know that as challenging as it is, I am fully able to lower it. When I think that I can’t open that pickle jar, I am reminded that it just takes a little more umph. (Or a few knocks with the butt of a knife.) With a little attitude adjustment, the sky is the limit for all of us.

Now go conquer the world!

Leave a Reply

Categories

