Posted by: canthold | September 20, 2007

My Happy 40th

Today is my 40th birthday. I’m having a very good day. I had been dreading today for two-years and today I’m just fine. I didn’t burst into flames (at least not yet) and I haven’t gotten into the Birthday Funk that beleaguers me sometimes.

When I went upstairs this morning to walk the dog, I found that my husband had decorated our living room with yellow streamers (my favorite color!) and balloons. It brought a smile to my face that pretty much never left.

I finally resolved the billing dispute with my daughter’s preschool, too. They were very, very nice about it. Of course they were! They’re nice people. I feel foolish that I let it bother me so much. Oh well. All’s well that ends well.

I did have a little crick in my hip this morning. I went running yesterday and maybe my hips are trying to tell me to switch to a less tortuous activity. There’s nothing like a little crick to make you feel old. The thing is, I don’t feel any older than I was yesterday. Yesterday I was only 39 and today I’m 40 and I feel the same. I felt cleaner yesterday because I got a shower, but that doesn’t really count in the comparison.

My daughter made me a birthday card in her class and had everyone sign it. Even her teacher signed it. That’s pretty special. I bought my youngest daughter a cinnamon roll today and she wouldn’t share with me. She said that she was more special than me and that’s the reason why. Hmmmm…

When my girlfriends took me out on Saturday to celebrate, they really made me appreciate what I have. I’ve been trying to teach my kids to look at what they have instead of what they don’t have, but it’s not easy. Saturday night was a great opportunity for me to live that lesson myself. I’ve actually been trying to write about it ever since, but I’ve been at a loss for words. (Can you believe that?)

I’m going to drag this birthday thing out for a while. I celebrated early on Saturday and I’ll probably go to dinner this weekend coming up. Then when we go visit with my mother-in-law in a couple weeks, we’ll celebrate again. There’s nothing like lots of celebrating to make something into a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

