Posted by: canthold | September 21, 2007

20/20 at 40

A long time ago, my mother gave me one of those blank, bound books to write in. Instead of writing in it as a journal, I used this particular one to write out my goals. Writing them out in pen, in a permanent book, helps me to achieve more.

It’s fun to look back on what my goals were back in the early 1990s. It’s fun to look at what I thought I wanted from my life by the time I hit 40-years-old. Do you know what I wanted? I wanted a happy family life with marriage and kids. The rest is irrelevant, but I have that life that I thought I wanted back then. And I still want it today.

Another one of my goals was to give up my glasses by the time I turned 40. I’ve been wearing them since high school and I’ve had a restriction on my drivers license since I was in my mid-20s. My eyes were never that bad, comparatively speaking, but I liked wearing glasses nonetheless.

Until I became vain, at least.

I tried many times to wear contacts but it never worked out for me. I can’t tell you how many times I bought them and couldn’t wear them because my eyes just don’t produce enough tears. I even tried the hard lenses that supposedly reshape your eyes. Ouch! Finally after about ten years of trying, I gave up the dream and embraced my glasses again.

Instead of wearing the glasses that disappear into my face – rimless – or modest wire things, I started wearing glasses that made more of a statement. They became part of my personality. My frames are on the thicker side and always at least as dark as my hair or darker. I actually wore black frames a few times.

Then, when I was breastfeeding my oldest daughter, I checked out a couple books from the library on natural vision correction. The idea behind this concept is that the clarity of our vision is impaired by weakened eye muscles. It is not a genetic¬†deformity as the doctors would have you believe. Your parents may wear glasses and you might wear glasses, but it’s because your parents loved to read and passed this love on to you. Then all of you read to your heart’s content and strained your eyes to the point of blurring.

The book Improve Your Vision Without Glasses or Contact Lenses, changed my life. I’ve become like an evangelist and tell everyone about it. Somewhere in this book they liken the used of glasses to putting a cast on a sprained ankle. Your ankle won’t heal properly without some movement and your eyes only get worse when “fixed” to a new level.

Because of the book, and the amount of time I spent sitting still breastfeeding, I corrected my eyes back to where they were years and years prior. I started by wearing all of my old glasses until my eyes were good with that and then got new lenses corrected to 20/40 instead of the standard 20/20. Each time I’ve done this, my eyes correct themselves to 20/20 and I start over again. I’ve improved my prescription from around -3.00 to -1.00 since I started this little experiment. And the only reason that I haven’t gotten rid of my glasses all together is because now I never sit still long enough to do the exercises. But I do still correct to 20/40.

The glasses that I’m wearing now are so incredibly scratched up that I can barely see out of them. I need to get the lenses replaced SO BADLY! But it’s time for a new prescription anyway, so I’ve been waiting for my appointment and suffering. A couple of days ago, I went out to walk the dog and took my glasses off in frustration. I could actually see just fine. I thought to myself that I’m pretty close to getting rid of these damn things, once and for all. And I can’t wait. Especially since I’m too cheap for the surgery and I’m a little freaked out by someone operating on my eyes.

Read the book. It will change the way you look at things. Really.

Responses

  1. Don’t buy new glasses, just use your old Army BCG’s.


Leave a Reply

Categories

