Posted by: canthold | October 12, 2007

October is…

I had my very first mammogram today. Seeing how I’m 40, and all. I had been dreading it for years because I heard it hurt so much. The fact that they squeeze you just doesn’t sound like something I’d want to have any part of. As it turned out, though, it wasn’t bad at all. I’m sure that the fact that my breasts are 40, too, has something to do with it. If my 20-year-old breasts had gone through the same treatment, I doubt I’d have anything positive to say about the experience.

It’s also fitting that it’s Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Might I be the one to remind you that if you’re due for your annual mammogram that you schedule one already?

The technician and I talked about how our pain thresholds went up after having kids. (Honestly, though, that’s not why I say it didn’t hurt. It really didn’t.) Her daughter was around ten, if I remember right. I asked her if she had heard about the spate of child abduction attempts lately.

Our principal sent out a couple of emails notifying the parents that there have been four attempts in our general area. That’s scary! The girls were all around 11-years-old and managed to get away before anything happened.

The technician told me that a little girl was actually taken in San Jose. My heart just about stopped until she told me that the girl managed to get away. That’s some lucky little girl, let me tell you.

I know that abductions are not new. I distinctly remember that my mom told me not to walk to the store alone and around the same time, a little girl had gone to the store to pick up a newspaper for her grandmother. She was not found alive. I just thought my mom was being overly cautious and sort of tuned her out until that incident happened. I’m sure that my kids will think the same of me through the course of our lives, too.

I only hope that when I tell them to alert and fight for their lives, if they ever need to, they’ll know what to do. I hope they’ll absorb all of my life lessons and live a long time. I’m sure that’s asking for a lot. I’ve got to remember to wish for it on my next birthday candles. Those come true, right?

So, let me be the one to remind you to keep having those talks with your kids. And if you need a little help, go here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

