Posted by: canthold | November 5, 2007

I Got a Gold Star Today!

I have a stinking suspicion that I’m going to lose the NaNoWriMo challenge this month. It might have something to do with the fact that my novel idea is sort of lame. Or I think that my interpretation is on the lame side. I’m trying to write from the perspective of a ten-year-old. I haven’t been ten in a long time. It’s not going anywhere right now…

On the positive side of things…I got a gold star today from Weight Watchers for losing five pounds. I think I could use more gold star awards in my daily life. This five-pound weight loss is approximately at a rate of one-pound per week. That’s about right. If I could give up my candy fixations and self-sabotage I’d have lost much more. But you know, if it were easy, it wouldn’t be a billion dollar business. (I say billion dollar, but I have no idea how much the industry makes and I don’t feel like looking it up. It’s a lot.)

My Weight Watchers location had a sale on cookbooks. I paid $7 for one to get ideas on how to make food that I’ll like and can eat without resorting to the areas of the kitchen I should avoid. The pictures make everything look so yummy, too.

Overall, I’m quite pleased with my venture into organized weight loss. I can totally see why it’s successful. It’s working for me exactly the way it’s supposed to and I highly recommend it if you have a desire to lose weight. I always thought that I didn’t have a big enough weight battle to justify joining. The reality is that you can want to lose any amount and if you don’t have the right tools, motivation and accountability your rate of success is lower. I also feel that since I’m a paying member, no matter what the other people think about me, I have just as much of a right to be there as they do.

Just answer this for me…why am I writing here when my novel is calling out? What the heck is my character going to do next?

Leave a Reply

Categories

