Posted by: canthold | November 20, 2007

Flowers

I was going to sit down and start writing about my trip, but I have to put this story in here.

For my 4oth birthday, one of my friends gave me some luxury items to pamper myself. She gave me all the things I needed for a relaxing bath. Included with the champagne and candles were several bath bombs. I love bath bombs for all the fizzing and the way they soften the water, so I thought this was especially cool.

While this gift was for me, in the spirit, I believe, that as a caregiver I need to care for myself too, I broke the sacred unspoken rule and shared a bath bomb with my kids. I enjoyed watching them enjoy it, so I, too, got pleasure out of it, even thought it wasn’t my bath. I felt a little guilty for sharing, but I have definitely learned my lesson. No sharing gifts. And here’s why:

My kids loved the bath bomb as soon as it hit the water. They took turns holding it in their hands while it fizzed smaller and smaller. While it was doing its thing, bits of flower petals appeared out of the dissolved bomb and the scent filled the air. By the time the bomb was all gone, the bath was completely filled with floating petals. They were everywhere. They stuck in the girls’ hair when we tried to wash it and smeared up against their skin. In fact, I had to shower them down with the hand-held nozzle in order to clean them off to get them out of the bathtub.

My Oldest: Mom, where are the flowers going to go?

Me: What do you mean?

MO: I don’t want anything to happen to them.

With this, she’s scooping them out of the water and “saving” them on the bathtub walls.

MO: Where will they go?

Me: They’ll go down the drain.

MO: Then what?

Me: I suppose they’ll be treated at the waste water processing plant and eventually a landfill. (Heck if I know.)

MO: (In tears.) I don’t want them to go to a landfill!

After she became absolutely hysterical at the idea that these flowers will be going away, she begged me to give her a hug.

Me: But you’re all wet. You’re in the tub!

Finally, to pacify her, I told her that by flipping the switch on the tub (the defunct drain stopper) the flowers would be diverted to a special place set aside for only flowers. These flowers would become new flowers soon and it’s really a beautiful field. You should see it.

MO: Are you telling the truth or are you just trying to make me feel better?

Me: If I told you I was only making you feel better, you wouldn’t really feel better, would you?

Must I tell you that the kids got out of the bath (followed by a shower) and I left the flowers all over the tub, not knowing what to do? Or is that obvious?

A week goes by – I’m sure it was less time than that, I do bathe my kids. When my mom was watching the kids, she came up to take them to school for a couple of days, and went to give them a bath but found all the petals in the tub. When she asked my oldest about them, she said not to clean them because they were special to Mommy.

They proceeded to take baths in my bathroom.

When I got back, the flowers were still there. I finally cleaned the bathroom tonight because the girls really needed to take a bath. I was almost all the way done with it when my oldest bursts into the room and asks me where I put the flowers.

Me: You’re going to just have to get over it, Honey. I had to clean them out.

MO: I’m so sad!

She instantly snaps into hysterical crying and while she did climb into the bath, she wanted to just get it done and get back out again. But, of course, while she’s in there, she says:

MO: I really need a hug, Mommy. My heart hurts. I think I’m going to have a heart attack.

After the shortest bath they’ve ever taken in their entire lives, I comb out their hair and read them stories. My oldest insists that she needs to sleep with me because she’s still so upset.

I had to remind her that they were only flower petals and that the flowers will bloom again and again. (We say what we need to.) And then I reminded her of the time she was a flower girl for my sister-in-law’s wedding. There were four of them all together and they walked down the aisle beautifully. When they got to the end and ran out of flowers, they all decided to walk back down the aisle and pick them up again to do a repeat performance.

She laughed. Finally.

Just when you think you’ve seen it all as a parent, some quirk just makes you scratch your head. Sad for flowers going down the drain. Hmmmmm…..

Responses

  1. Just when you think you’ve seen it all indeed! Great story!

    Thanks for contributing this post to this week’s Carnival of Family Life which I am hosting! It is a valuable addition to the Carnival.

    Have you considered hosting the Carnival one week?

    Blessings to you and yours this Thanksgiving weekend.

  2. […] Holder presents Flowers at Can’t Holder Tongue. Just when you think you’ve heard it all, your kids will […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

