Posted by: canthold | December 6, 2007

Can’t Holder Teeth

Monday I got a temporary crown put on a tooth that had a gold over-lay since 1988. I warned the dentist, who came highly recommended by my husband, that I have a hard time getting numb. He assured me that I would be just fine. After giving me a couple of injections, very professionally administered with the pre-numbing swab, by the way, he felt confident that I would be numb enough if my lip was tingly. It was, but only a little. I probably should have told him then, but he didn’t ask the degree to which it was tingly.

He started sawing off the – what I’ve always called a crown before but didn’t go all the way to the gum-line, which is where I got a cavity, which started this whole thing in the first place – over-lay and CAPOWIE! OWIE! I stopped him when I couldn’t take it anymore. He administered another shot and tried again. Nope, it wasn’t enough. Finally, he gave me what felt like a spray of novacaine over the top of the tooth. I don’t actually know what happened because I couldn’t see inside my mouth, but that’s what it felt like.

Finally, it was okay enough not to complain. Between you and I, I still felt something, but I was over getting anymore shots. By the time my hour-long appointment turned into an hour and forty-five-minutes, I was completely deflated and I don’t know if he saw the tears streaming down my cheeks beneath the safety goggles he gave me to protect my eyes from flying metal. (I even choked on a piece of gold that flew down my throat. My dentist called it teamwork when I handed it over.)

The worst part (best part) was that I was listening to my iPod while all this was going on. I got the idea from another dentist I went to once who had a set of goggles for me to watch a movie during my filling. The music was just distracting enough to calm me down. If you could actually call me calm. The part where it becomes the worst is when I was listening to the same John Mayer CD in the car on the way home and all I could think of was the drilling. I hope I didn’t do A Clockwork Orange and lock together the drill with my favorite music.

I don’t blame the guy. In fact, now that this guy did this tooth, I’ve finally forgiven all the other yahoo dentists who’ve caused me torment in the past. It wasn’t them, it was me! This dentist is a rock star and I trust him a heck of a lot more than I’ve trusted any other dentist in the past, (except for the guy with the movie goggles.)

I had so much novacaine in me that I couldn’t shut my left eye. My jaw still hurts today and chewing on the right side only is taking a lot of joy out of my eating. I mean, how can I enjoy the carrots when the crunching is so tortuous? Soft ice cream is much better, so I had to do what I had to do. You know what I mean? (Have you tried Dulce de Leche?)

My oldest daughter lost her third tooth on Monday, too, and the tooth fairy almost forgot to come to our house! My husband woke me up at 4:30 in the morning to ask me if the tooth fairy visited. No. She hadn’t. So I had to get up and log onto the computer to find out an easy origami fold because our particular tooth fairy does that sort of thing. It turned out a little lame because the dollar bill wasn’t new, but for 4:30 in the morning, where am I supposed to get a new one-dollar-bill?

I’m going to go stain my temporary crown with some wine now…

Responses

  1. I had 2 1/2 hours of dental work on Monday, so I can definitely relate. I’m phobic about going to the dentist, even though I love, love, love my current dentist. And I swear by listening to my iPod to get through the appointment. I’m listening to a book read by Campbell Scott, and his soothing voice helped relax me.

  2. I’m so sorry! The dentist is in my top ten difficult professions list. (Can you imagine people being afraid of you all the time? Or having negative associations with you?) By the way, my number one is the nurse that gives shots to babies. That’s got to be the worse job ever!


Leave a Reply

Categories

