Posted by: canthold | December 9, 2007

A Few Things On My Mind…

I get all my ideas for posts while I’m upstairs, usually triggered by something I’ve read in the paper, and my computer is downstairs. When I’m sitting down here, I am usually just rushed or in between things or interrupted constantly. Or too tired as I’m about to go to bed, like tonight.

Lately I’ve been wanting to write about a few things that have been on my mind but I just haven’t been able to get to it. I’ve probably had the most visitors to my site, ever, and I don’t have anything interesting to say. Do you really care about my teeth?

And speaking of…my oldest daughter lost another tooth. This time it was her second upper front tooth and she now looks like a hockey player. But anyway…

Did you hear about the teen birth rate rising for the first time in 15 years? Do you think that is enough to prove that the Abstinence Only campaign isn’t really all that it’s cracked up to be? Or do you think the opposition to teaching the correct facts of life will chalk it up to a blip in the statistics?

Did you know the Farm Bill is up for a vote next week? This is the chance we have to change the status quo and ensure healthy food is available to everyone. And to possibly eliminate subsidized extra calories in processed food. It’s time for a change. Do you think the politicians will have the gumption to do the right thing?

I’m actually quite riled up over the Farm Bill. I’ve been trying to find the time to write to my Senators to weigh in my two cents, for whatever that’s worth (two cents?) I go to the local farmers market about once a week unless my youngest daughter, who is training to be a hermit, puts up too much of a fight to make it worth my while. I love going there and getting fresh fruits and vegetables and flowers and honey and so much more! I try to buy local, but even there you have to pay attention. Some stands sell produce from as far away as Los Angeles (300+ miles). And there are certain foods that I only buy organic, like strawberries, because of the way they absorb so much. The problem with buying strawberries, though, is that they’re so fresh you have to eat them right away or they go off quickly.

My trick to the farmers market is to only have about $20 in my pocket. When that runs out, we go home. We’re in and out in about a half-an-hour. But break that down a bit. If I spend $20 a week times four weeks in a month, I’m spending $80 a month on fresh fruits and veggies. I make it fit into my budget, but what about those people who either have more mouths to feed or a tighter budget. Maybe they skip the kettle corn, but that’s the food that should more affordable to more people, not the $.50 box of macaroni and cheese.

Stepping off my soapbox for now… My oldest daughter has a family tree assignment due tomorrow that I’m just getting around to printing photos. I’ve been out of school for a while now and I’m still procrastinating homework. But I am done with the tooth fairy’s assignment. Tonight my daughter gets a fan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

