Posted by: canthold | January 2, 2008

Splathering Cheers

I re-read my last post and it sounds like I’m a greedy Internet entrepreneur trying to milk my readers – maybe not that extreme, but I’m a bit self-conscience about that post. I’ve read a lot of blogs that are looking to make money by either splathering their sites with ads or actually trying to post content that they think will bring in lots of readers. They probably all have more readers than I do, but after a while, it starts getting really bland.

There have been a few sites that I have stopped visiting because of these antics and I do not intend to become one of them myself. I might be bland and uninteresting to read, but that’s just me. It’s not an effort to be anyone other than who I already am. And as for plastering ads all over the place, maybe a few would be good, but I don’t want to slow down loading times or look like a billboard. Maybe I won’t even like them on my site at all. I can’t say.

I can say, that the expenses I’m trying to cover amount to a mere $6 a month. I had a hard time convincing my husband that this site was necessary for my own sanity the first time, but renewing would be more challenging. This, of course, could lead to a number of philosophical arguments about the value of stay-at-home moms, but I won’t go there. My husband doesn’t understand the need for my creative outlet and we’ll have to leave it at that for now.

I can also say that I have a job interview tomorrow and I’m very excited. My exploding enthusiasm for this interview is probably going to jinx my chances. You know, if I was the superstitious kind or something. Which I’m not. (I also told people that I was pregnant with my youngest daughter before I was past my first trimester and she’s just fine!)

In other news, my dog has a limp. I don’t know from what. We’re taking it easy, but he has more energy than his leg will allow. I’ve also become aware that he’s been eating cat food much more than I previously thought. That’s got to stop. I need the Fat Boy to slim down.

My cat had some sort of injury to her eye. I don’t know how or when it happened, but one looked clouded over. It now appears almost cleared, allowing me to breathe a sigh of relief. Part of me wonders if the two pet injuries are related. Did the dog step on the cat, twisting his ankle and temporarily blinding her in the process? I just don’t know.

And after further inquiries, my step-dad claims that he did not find my cell phone. I mentioned this to my sister and she asked me if had prayed to St. Anthony, the patron saint of lost things. I had not, but it’s good to know I have a place to turn when I’m looking for something now.

Still a happy New Year…

Leave a Reply

Categories

