Posted by: canthold | January 12, 2008

New Looks

I’ve changed the look of my site again. As you may have already noticed. I like to delude myself that “…only fools are satisfied,” as Billy Joel wrote so long ago that I’m not even going to calculate the time.

The way that I had my site set up before was a bit flawed and the guy who wrote the code stopped supporting it and wouldn’t respond to my request for documentation that was no longer available. Since I’m too lazy inexperienced to fix it all myself, I thought I’d just find another playground to bounce my ball.

There is no grass or even hills to gaze upon, but you also don’t have to roll your eyes at my crappy photos either. (Unless you look at my Whose Tongue page. I didn’t take the picture, but it’s blurry nonetheless.)

I’ve changed the look of my arm today, too. Instead of being just plain and normal, I’ve adorned it with pink tape and a needle mark. That’s right, I gave blood today. There is a severe blood shortage in the Bay Area and this would be a good time to donate if you were unconvinced before. It’s not that big of a deal, really. And if you’re afraid of needles, just don’t look.

My advice is to drink A LOT of fluids before hand (within several hours, not minutes) and the process will go very quickly. From the time I walked in to the time I walked out, only a mere hour had lapsed. And – my favorite part – they have cookies and juice. And – another favorite part – guilt-free reading time to immerse myself into my latest adventure.

I’m reading Home: The Story of Everyone Who Ever Lived in Our House by Julie Myerson. I found this author when we had a short term subscription to the Financial Times, where she is a columnist. I couldn’t get into that particular paper, but when the Home section arrived on Fridays, I went immediately to Ms. Myerson’s section and devoured it.

And speaking of giving a new look to things…I plan on giving a new look to my office. I’m going to remove the piles of things and make it neat and orderly. At least that is the plan. And the front of the house could use a new holiday-neutral look, which requires my taking down the Christmas lights. I don’t want to be one of those neighbors.

Still a happy New Year…

Responses

  1. I’m one of the “Bah Humbug” neighbors. I have a 4 inch Christmas tree that gets put up maybe 2 weeks before Christmas and taken down Christmas night. I also don’t decorate the house partly because I live in an apartment that is located in the back of the house and partly because I can’t be bothered. I’m just not the decorating type.

  2. I’m one of those neighbors. Our Christmas lights are still up. But I did unplug the timer so that they don’t turn on automatically every night.

  3. I didn’t realize it, but apparently I am one of those neighbors also. I still have the lights up. I didn’t mean to be one of those. I don’t usually leave the lights up. I guess I didn’t want Christmas to end.

  4. “Those” neighbors that I’m referring to are the ones who still have Christmas lights up in June. It’s still January and I’m the last one to judge procrastination. I’m just self-conscious because my neighborhood is totally on the ball with their holiday decorations – which they go all out with.

    I still have pictures that I meant to hang last year leaning against my walls. Waiting…


Leave a Reply

Categories

