Posted by: canthold | February 14, 2008

Valentine’s Day is for Hearts

Valentine’s Day is a one of the best days to be a mom. Seeing my kids excited over their Valentines, the party at school, and the candy goodies they get is just so much fun! My oldest daughter dressed the part today, too. She wore pink tights with white hearts on them, a red skirt, cream colored shirt with pink and red hearts all over it, a red chenille hooded pullover with a giant heart on the front, and hot pink cowgirl boots. Oh wait, and the biggest toothless smile ever.

My youngest daughter, on the other-hand, wore a yellow dress with a blue coat. She later changed into Superman pjs to play, but not a stitch of pink or red on her except the “S.”

This year I’ve been more aware that five years ago today my oldest daughter had her heart operated on. It was fitting to have the surgery on Valentines Day, but I recall how absolutely horrible that day was until she went to the recovery room. I couldn’t have been more scared for my kiddo.

With the knowledge that I have now – long past that day – I know it was an easy thing to deal with compared to what it could have been. At the time, however, I thought I could lose my daughter. She was only eight-months-old. Her heart is the reason that I became a stay at home mom. The thought of losing her made me want to savor as much time with her as I possibly could. I wanted her quality of life to be the highest I could make it, if there was even a slight chance that her life would not go on.

Phew! I’m so glad that’s so long past and her heart is fine. I’m glad the only hearts we deal with on Valentine’s Day now are candy and cut out paper. Have a happy one.

And welcome to the world Baby C. I can’t wait to meet you.

Responses

  1. So who is baby C?????? Is there something you want to share? I remember that day though I haven’t thought about it in a while. She is so vibrant and living life to the fullest. You are truly blessed with two wonderful girls.

  2. I can’t imagine how hard it must have been to have your daughter go through that. I’m glad everything’s ok now.

  3. We called our babies Baby C, too, until they arrived –isn’t that an odd coincidence?

    I had no idea that your daughter had surgery so young. I’m so glad that it all turned out okay and you stayed a SAHM anyway–just because I think you, of all people, would miss so much otherwise.

  4. I think that looking back on the hard stuff makes appreciating the rest a little easier.


Leave a Reply

Categories

