Posted by: canthold | May 12, 2008

The Three Spiders and a Friend

I had a message on my voice mail today from my doctor letting me know that my MRI was normal. Yep, there’s a brain in there. I was worried, too, for I suspected that it might just be empty up there. My vertigo has not returned, but I feel the looming threat that it just might if I don’t stop pretending as though it’s not there.

I can’t help but think about what one reader said about the spiders that I encounter on a regular basis. She said that there is some relationship to creativity. I feel badly having to kill them due to my intense fear, but I can’t live with them to the degree that they want to live with me.

Just today, I lugged my lightweight (10lbs) vacuum down to my office to suck up three medium sized cellar spiders. Then lo and behold, as I’m typing this very post, a medium to large-ish spider, that appeared out of nowhere, started crawling at me. Fortunately, my trusty vacuum was ready for it. Excuse me while I shiver. Where are they coming from? Last year I at least remember them starting out as cute little babies – which, sick as it is, are much easier to kill than the big ones. This year they all seem to be giant from the get-go. It’s freaking me out.

Anyway, did I have a point here? I don’t know. Perhaps they were reading the wrong MRI and I just have a big empty space up there. Then again, if that were the case, you’d think there’d be enough room for memories – even the short-term kind. It would be helpful, you know.

Did I tell you about the three spiders in my office today?


Leave a comment

Categories