Posted by: canthold | July 2, 2008

Woman Eats Popcorn And Spins Out of Control!

This has been one heck of a week and it’s only Wednesday. First, the accident on Monday. Tuesday I took my car in and felt awful all day long. Our family went to see the new movie, WALL-E, last night and I, glutton for punishment that I am, ate some popcorn. I did not eat so much that my husband had to fear for my children’s fingers, like he said, but I did eat some. After all, it’s one of my favorite things in the whole wide world.

Then last night I had the absolute worst case of vertigo EVER! I was up for two hours – or should I say down for two hours – on the bathroom floor. I had the need to throw up but could not, so I felt no relief, whatsoever. The spinning was the super violent, too. At one point I just started crying. There was nothing that I could do to stop it or feel better, including taking the medication that I have that knocks out my vestibular system. It just didn’t work.

As if that wasn’t enough. There was one point when it finally stopped, just to start up again. It was like having two extreme episodes back-to-back.

I’m sorry, but popcorn is just not that evil. There are so many variables that I’m tracking in my little one-person-vertigo-management experiment that I don’t know what could have been the exact cause of it. And considering this disease is all about management and there is no actual cure, it could be that no matter what I do I will spin. That’s that.

So today, I looked like Dead Woman Walking. My face was pale and it took everything I had to get out of bed, make lunches and deliver my offspring to their respective camps. I felt that on a scale of 1 to 10, I was feeling about a “1” and that’s being generous.

I had an acupuncture appointment today, coincidentally, and my – I’ll just call her “savior” – thinks that the vertigo was related to the accident. She advised me to pursue the insurance company for reimbursement for her treatment today. She said that it knocked me out of alignment and ruined my energy. Or at least that’s what I think she said.

Lucky for me, my savior worked some magic. Instead of my back, etc, she did my front today. I was a little horrified by the need to show my belly to her and made a mental note to get a bikini wax afterwards, too, but all in all, she fixed me. I walked out of there completely relaxed with color in my cheeks, not to mention the strange experience of having herbs burned on my needles while I was posing as a voodoo doll. She’s a miracle worker, let me tell you. 

The last thing that would bring you completely up-to-speed on my week-so-far is the call I got from the body shop. It’s going to cost – roughly – $7800 to fix the back end of my little CRV. Not that I have to pay for any of it, mind you, but they told me just the same. And I won’t get it back until about July 18th. (The milk in there should be ripe by then.) I just don’t like this little rental car enough to want to drive it for another three weeks. The problem is, and this is why I don’t just love my husband’s Subaru wagon, the driver’s seat has power seat adjustment. Since I’m so short – a mere 5’2″ (so much for my runway career or basketball) I need to scoot the seat pretty darn close to the steering wheel to touch the pedals. Since I’m so close, I’ve gotten in the habit of moving the seat back to normal when I get out of the car again. The power adjustments take forever. It drives me up a wall. If I leave the adjustment where I drive from, I need a can opener to get in and out. In my own car I just grab a lever and slide. This way I have to hold a little button until my patience runs out or it stops, whichever happens first, and you can just guess the answer to that one.

With everything these last three days had in store for me, I wait on baited breath for tomorrow. It’s got to be exciting, too, right? At least the Tour de France starts soon. I can watch young men with giant thighs and perfect teeth suffer up the mountain stages as I have suffered from my vertigo and be glad somehow. Does that even make sense? I don’t really know what I was trying to say. My daughter asked me to open a bottle of root beer but didn’t tell me she shook it first.

Like I said, can’t wait for tomorrow’s adventures…

Responses

  1. i bet the accident did mess you up, and then the movie prob contributed, bright lights, flashes etc in the dark, that could mess up your brain.
    BTW, did you like Wall-e? My son wanted to leave 1/2 way and I wasn’t upset to leave cause I was bored.

  2. I’m pretty much guaranteed to get a migraine every time I go to the movies, which makes it hard to work up any enthusiasm for going. I sucked it up last weekend and took the girls to see wall-e, which I didn’t like. So the resulting migraine was sort of like insult to injury.

  3. The Wall Street Journal called Wall-E a “masterpiece.” It was because of this review that I was really looking forward to it. I liked it, but didn’t think it was a “masterpiece.” My husband didn’t like it and my kids did. I kept thinking that maybe it was something I would appreciate it more if I saw it again.

    It’s sort of a sad social commentary about the lives we live and our priorities. I’m kind of tired of the doom and gloom in my face all the time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

