Posted by: canthold | August 15, 2008

Nancy Drew Watches The Carrera de San Rafael Twilight Criterium

I was thinking today that linking to that other site might bring some visitors over here. Perhaps I should have skipped the link. I know some of my readers are really into cycling like I am, but I don’t know if the reverse would be true.

Getting ready (for my interview!) I was thinking of some Very Serious Sports Fan (VSSF) clicking over here and thinking that he doesn’t have time for some part-time Nancy Drew doing some medical sleuthing over some condition they could care less about. I like the Trust But Verify site because of the technical aspect and the science. I’m kind of a geek that way. I can’t imagine a VSSF giving two hoots about that “M” word and what women concern themselves with. (M = menopause, and no, it has nothing to do with men.)

So, in light of possible new readers investigating this site a little further and to give my cycling fan cyber-friends a little sneak peak into greatness, I’ll tell you what I did last weekend. (Besides absolutely NOTHING else.)

I saw the Carrera de San Rafael twilight criterium. My husband tried to tell me that Fabian Cancellara was a competitor, though I was unable to find any evidence supporting this. I was thinking how funny it is that as much as I know about the professional cyclists, I wouldn’t always be able to pick them out of a line-up. I have just been informed that all the matchy-matchy spandex, shoe covers and color-coordinated helmet are called the “kit.” Once the racers are all dressed up, they are hard to identify, especially if they’re wearing sunglasses.

The race was pretty cool, and very fast. My girls were dancing on the sidewalk behind us and my husband and I were ringing our cowbells every time the racers sped by us for two-seconds. We were on the interior of the loop and I was so uptight having to cross the street in the middle of the race. I’m terribly fearful of accidentally getting run over by a cyclist, but even worse (really?) would be to ruin their race for them. We couldn’t stay for the whole thing since it ended so late and well, we’ve got kids. You can read more here. See the race here (scroll if you have to.)

So there – a little cycling blurb for new readers and old fans. And by the way, since it’s taken me so long to write this, between start and finish, I got the job. (Yay!) And I wanted to tell you to come back either the 24th or the 25th because I’m not going to be able to post in between with so much going on.

It’s good to be back. And I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

Categories

