Posted by: canthold | August 26, 2008

Is it just me or…

My world is spinning. And  I had a massive case of vertigo this morning. I was so panicked that I wasn’t going to be able to work. I mean, I can blow off the laundry, but I can’t blow off 20 kindergartners who need me to open their yogurts and tell them where the garbage can is.

I took some meds and a little nap between a thoroughly challenging full-of-vertigo drop off. I had a hard time even turning my head and saying hello. Last year I was at one end of campus with my oldest and now I have to drop her off and walk the entire length of the school to drop off my little one. I see more people. I know more people. I say hello to more people. It’s not as much fun as it would be if I felt better.

Fortunately, by the time I woke up and scrambled to get back to the school on time, I felt much better. I even got another nap in this afternoon. Who says my life is any different?

But it’s crazy. I have so many things swirling around in my head that it’s spinning – this time figuratively. There are a million things that I’m juggling and trying to remember – including where I put my to-do list – and phone calls to make and appointments to make and I can’t get a hold of the people when I’m ready to talk and they call me back when I’m not even home. I’m sure it will settle. And all things considered, I’m actually happy that school is here. It’s just so much more predictable and I like routines and schedules. I feel like I’m in more control this way and – let’s face it – there are very few things in life that you can actually  control.

Then there’s this. And I smile and all is right with the world.

A slice of paradise

Click on it to make it bigger so that you can crawl inside the little houses and take a mini vacation.

Responses

  1. I feel the same way about having school in session. I like the routine of my days – and the silence of the house, I must confess.


Leave a Reply

Categories

