Posted by: canthold | September 2, 2008

Hatchet Head(ache)

I’ve been plotting this next blog post for a couple of days now. I just NEED to write it. Except it feels like there is a hatchet stuck in my head and I still have a million things to do and I’m tired and the rest will have to wait until tomorrow. Whatever that day day is. I’ve lost track.

I want to write about John McCain’s running mate. And Obama. And you probably know what I have to say, but I could very well have something else to say that you wouldn’t have guessed. I’ll keep you in suspense.

What’s with this massive headache? My HMO offers a Headache Clinic that’s supposed to teach us how to manage our pain. I haven’t done it because, quite frankly, I don’t think it’s going to do me any good. I swear it’s a PMS (pre-menopause-symptom) but since pre-menopause is a figment of my imagination and I’m entirely too young to be experiencing any abnormal symptoms, it’s all in my head. But literally.

I’m going to be 39this month and my pre-menopausal symptoms will be going away anyway, right? 39 is entirely too young to be having any of these things happen. Now, if I were turning 41, that’s a bit closer to getting older, but I’m not. I’m getting younger. Watch me.

I’m trying to throw a birthday party for my youngest daughter (who turned 5 on August 13th) so that she can get to know the kids in her class a little better and what better way than a party? But the class list is just now coming out and I haven’t gotten my act together and who knows how many people will come with such late notice. I’m sad that I’m such a scrambled egg brain today.

I’m going to be celebrating my 9th anniversary on Friday, since my husband has Work Plans on our actual anniversary. Hiring a babysitter hasn’t made it on my list yet, so we’ll see if that happens.

There are endless/countless other things that I need to do and instead I’m going to take my hatchet-head to bed. Maybe I’ll get lucky and feel better tomorrow.

Maybe…

Oh, though, before I forget, I was sitting with my youngest daughter in the kindergarten playground sandbox, when I looked down and saw a tiny spider right next to me. Normally, no matter how phobic I am, I let them be when found in nature. Then I noticed it was black. And it had a tiny red-ish spot on it’s tummy, that I saw since it was hanging upside down. And I got REALLY close to investigate further, wishing I had a magnifying glass with me. Then I killed it. I couldn’t take a chance at letting this little spider, out in nature, turn out to be a baby black widow where small children play. I felt badly when I did it. Can you believe that? Remorse. Guilt. Motherly instinct to protect all young children conflicted with the sick feeling that killing things makes me a bad person.

I’m going to bed now.

Responses

  1. wow, friday is my 10th anniversary! snap! (and congrats)

  2. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY

  3. Happy Anniversary to you too. And MANY more happy years.
    ~Carol


Leave a Reply

Categories

