Posted by: canthold | September 6, 2008

Euphoria

I haven’t often written while drunk on euphoria, but I couldn’t pass this up. I think that tonight may have to go down as one of the best nights of my life. Actually, I like to think that there are too many to make note of single ones, but tonight was lovely. Up there.

I went to a book signing for the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. First of all, it was written by my friend Mary Ann, who died this February. Her death is still quite a blow to me. I wish so much for her to be right here enjoying this wonderful experience of having her book so wildly popular. As Mary Ann was dying, she needed help with the final edits and some additions were made – seamlessly and perfectly – by her niece, Annie Barrows, the author of the Ivy & Bean books.

The evening was great. I got to socialize with my book group, who I see entirely too infrequently. I got complements on this great dress I just bought – which, by the way, makes me look like a million bucks if I do say so myself. Which means I felt pretty.

Then a woman complemented my haircut. She even got the name of the salon so that she could go there. Again, million bucks.

In all, it just felt so joyous and fun to be out of the house engaged in something that was important and meaningful to me. I need to always remember that I am important too, even though my priorities get sunken to the bottom of my to-do lists and everyone else’s floats to the top. I needed a night like tonight where I could feel good about who I am, feel socially and emotionally engaged and pretty, to boot.

Still floating…

Responses

  1. i ordered the book, i love a good recommendation and I love reading books written by people I know or by people who people I sorta know, know.

  2. You will love it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

