Posted by: canthold | October 6, 2008

Vertigo Go

I had to go to work again with vertigo. I looked like a bus had run me over or I was going on an extended vacation – packing my bags under my eyes so that I don’t get charged extra by the airlines. I decided that I was going to fix my little problem, once and for all.

Like that’s really possible.

I went and bought some Mega Vitamins with lots of B Complex vitamins inside. And while I was at it, I got some Dong Quai, which supposedly balances out the female system. It is also known to relieve menopausal symptoms. I’m hoping that it a) evens out any fluctuations in my hormones that might be causing my crazy vertigo to be worse and/or b) doesn’t cause me any more problems than I already have. It was recommended by a friend who said it worked for her. We’ll see.

And I’m taking my meclizine more frequently. My first ENT told me to take it four times a day when I was having my vertigo bouts. I don’t know why I stopped taking it so much, but I’m going to start that again.

Then, I’m going to try meditating once a day. I’m too spastic most of the time for this to fit into my schedule, but since I used to feel so much better from my acupuncture treatment, I think that maybe utter relaxation couldn’t hurt here either. I’m going to try to find some deep well of peace inside my soul to quench my stress. I know that sounds a bit corny, but I’m willing to dance under the moon naked if I have to and I don’t know what the moon phase is currently.

Next, I’m going to go to sleep tonight by 9:30pm! Yep, you read that right. Since my vertigo hits me in the morning usually, I’m going to try to get more sleep so that when I wake up I can move more slowly – instead of rushing around all the time – and ease into some exercise. In other words, I’m going to walk my dog. Poor guy.

Lastly, I’m going to listen to uplifting and upbeat music while getting the kids ready and getting dressed for work. Have you heard the new Michael Franti song? LOVE IT!

I’m going to shift my attitude into Can Do instead of Poor Me – at least for now – and see if I can get my body to follow my spirit. I’m so tired of feeling awful. You don’t know how good your health is until it goes south.

Cross your fingers and send some happy thoughts in my direction. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

