Posted by: canthold | October 16, 2008

The End of the Day

Bedtime stories always make me sleepy. Too bad it doesn’t work for my kids. They’ve been keeping each other up so much that I’m definitely  splitting their bedrooms up. I think it will be good for them to have some time apart. They spend so much time together that it’s almost like we’re raising them as twins.

The other night, after lights out, my oldest daughter was on the floor pretending to be a baby (I didn’t understand either). My youngest daughter had a glass jar that she keeps small toy dogs in and it rolled off the bed onto the “baby.” The baby, as she should have been, was on her back – you know, to prevent SIDS – and the glass jar landed on her face, chipping her newly grown in permanent front tooth. It was a very small chip and nothing worth rushing to the dentist for, but I told her to remember this moment. She would need to remember for the rest of her life where that chip came from, since it’s not going to ever get fixed (probably never). Nonetheless, I was traumatized by it just a little.

Then there is the little diorama that my oldest daughter made of a cemetery. It’s a Halloween craft and more of a pop-up craft than a real diorama, but I don’t know what to call it. Anyway, in my daughter’s cemetery, one of the gravestones has her sister’s name on it. She defended the incident with, “But I put flowers on it!” Sure enough, there was a cut out of a bouquet of flowers that she put by her sister’s grave. By the way, it’s displayed in her classroom window for the world to see.

I just hope I can live with the pink paint that she picked out for her walls in her new room. I made a terrible mistake the last time I picked out a shade of pink for their current room. It is not something I want to look at too much because it’s quite obnoxious. They love it, of course, and while this time I was steering my oldest towards a pale pale pale shade, we went one step darker than I would have liked. My husband voted to let her have what she wanted and now I’m wondering what I’m going to have to live with.

I can’t wait to have the energy to finish it. I started it last night and got halfway through with one coat. It took me a while because I didn’t get all the furniture moved OUT, just into the center. The ladder is hard to maneuver and it’s going to be difficult to move behind all that furniture.

Oh well. It will get done. My vertigo is taking a little break. It turns out that I need 10-hours of sleep at night in order to feel good. And feel good, I do. All’s well, at least for now. I think I’ll have some tea and go to bed myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

