Posted by: canthold | November 4, 2008

That New President Smell

Actually, I can’t smell anything right now because I’m stuffy from crying. Of joy. Of the significance of the power change. I’m thankful that I don’t have to pack up my house and try to sell it in this crazy market to move to France. I just painted.

Oh joy.

I tucked my daughter in as the impact of tonight’s election results hit me. I looked at her and thought about how she’s living through a historical moment and doesn’t even know it. It felt the same as when I looked at my other daughter while watching the events of 9/11 unfold. Our times are changing. Again.

I’ve been doing a lot of blogging in my head lately. You should have read the funny one I didn’t write on Saturday. I can’t even remember it except it was something about buying gas for only $2.69. I was flabbergasted that it had come down so low. There was also a Chevy Suburban parked in a compact spot that nearly made me climb into my car through the passenger side. But for some reason, I haven’t been writing here.

Why is that? Busy? That never stopped me before. Just doing other things? That could be it. I’m writing a novel this month for NaNoWriMo. It will be my second. I didn’t do it last year – thought about it, though no follow through – and I’m excited about this year. I’m already behind, though, since blogging isn’t the only writing that isn’t happening on this computer.

I just had to write about tonight, though. The dawning of a new era. I’m so happy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

