Posted by: canthold | March 7, 2009

Smile!

I know that I’ve written about my dental adventures in Drillsville before. My quest into finding a good dentist has been spotty. I have spent the last year thinking that I needed to get a root canal. Yikes!

I don’t even know what a root canal is exactly. I just know I don’t want one. After getting my new crown on over a year ago, I spent three months not being able to chew on my left side before I finally called the dentist to tell him. He referred me to another guy for oral surgery and I never went back to him.

Last week I went to yet another new dentist. I was very happy with my experience. First of all, all the cavities that I supposedly had to get filled right away weren’t there. Either the other guy saw dead cavity ghosts or I didn’t have any. I choose not to believe that this dentist missed something. All the other previous dentists never caught a mouthful of cavities either. Perhaps they were small somethings that he wanted to fill, but no cavities this time.

And I asked.

A couple of times.

And that pain in my mouth that I’ve been living with? Well, this new guy just made some adjustments to my new crown and a couple other teeth. And by adjustments I mean filed them down – or whatever technical terms the dentists use for that device. He said that the wrong teeth in my mouth were bearing the brunt of my bite. Some teeth are stronger and more able to withstand the forces better than others. He changed my bite and while it might need another tweek, it feels better already.

And here’s the thing. He smoothed the bottoms of my two front teeth. I had little bumps on my front teeth my entire life. He had me hold a mirror and fixed something that has been bugging me forever. I love my teeth now! They’re perfect little chicklettes. I doubt anyone else would even notice, but it makes me smile every time I think about it.

I think I’ll keep this guy. So far, so good.

Responses

  1. How wonderful that you had such easy fixes! I have a crown that needs to be adjusted, but I’m scared to go to the dentist for fear of what she’ll find wrong next.

  2. I hear you. But maybe you’ll get lucky and it won’t be as bad as you expect.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

