Posted by: canthold | April 2, 2009

That Little Tickle

I had the weirdest night last night. I was sleeping and periodically, in some sort of stupor, would scratch and it felt like scabs were coming off. I made a mental note to investigate in the morning.

Then I got a little tickle in my ear. I stuck my finger in to itch it. Now mind you, it’s 3:00 in the morning and I’m deliriously tired. It occurs to me that a spider has crawled into my ear and I stick my finger in it again to kill the spider. It still tickles.

I got out of bed by this time, absolutely needing to investigate this in the light. I went into the bathroom, tipped my head, swirled around my finger in my ear again, then got out the Q-tip. Nothing.

That’s weird.

Until I saw the TICK the size of a pencil eraser on my bathroom counter!!! Oh my gosh, it freaked me out. I’ve been itchy all day. And yes, I killed it.

It had not had a chance to embed itself into my ear, thankfully, and was walking in a very interesting robot-like fashion on my counter. I watched it for a bit to get a good look at this thing and marvel at how it was trying to get cozy in my ear.

In case you’re wondering, I think it came from my cat, which is an outdoor cat, who likes to snuggle on my neck. I’m not sure what to do about that. I really like to snuggle with the cat.

Responses

  1. I just don’t even know what to say about this. If I were you, I think I’d be sleeping with ear plugs just to make sure nothing else snuck in.

  2. I am now constantly checking my hair and I’m thinking about them all the time. Too icky.


Leave a Reply

Categories

