Posted by: canthold | May 15, 2009

Spin Spendy

I can’t believe I haven’t written in so long. At least not here. You should read all the clever little blog posts that I have in my head!

I’ve been dealing with two-weeks of Very Awful Vertigo. I can’t wait for it to go away and I’m hopeful that it will. Given the length of last years’ streak, perhaps my hopefulness is just plain naive, but that’s me. Today was a little rough at the start and I thought I wasn’t going to make it through my day, but here I am, alive to tell the tale.

And then…

My husband found a rummage sale on his way home from work last night. He told me about it and even called me today to make sure I went. He’s probably going to be sorry about that. I spent $65! (ish) I had to make three trips to my car!

First of all, I’m totally into the whole re-purpose movement and being able to buy good stuff used is right up my alley. AND when I can buy something for $5 that would cost me $65 at a store, I’m in heaven. Here’s what I bought.

A cute little Seiko watch – $5

A terrarium for my Kindergarten class’s pathetic little polliwog/tadpole that has been living in a plastic Tupperware container for a month – $5

A gym mat for tumbling or putting under rings that I’d like to install – $10 (and I KNOW they go for over $100 at least!)

Three vases for $1 each. Two are for Teacher Appreciation week next week.

A little backpack that is ideal for little hikes where you don’t want to carry the kitchen sink – $5

Two shelves for one of my girls’ room – $5 each

Three tennis rackets so the girls can play with us – $3 X 2 and $4 X1

Okay, and here’s either the steel or the waste: I bought some drawer/cabinet pulls. I bought something like 25-30 for only $20. They are really interesting because they look like they are full of rosemary needles or grass. They’re just natural looking but interesting. Certainly not as boring or as ugly as the cheep-o gold colored ones that I have now. I just don’t know if my husband will like them. If they work for us they’re a steel because they’re the type that would sell for at least $5 each. If they’re not liked by anyone but me, I can resell them or I just wasted 20-bucks. 

So that’s my day. Now I’m listening to the Wedding March from the upstairs synthesizer while my daughter has a play date. 

I need to write more and I’ll really try to do just that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

