Posted by: canthold | August 12, 2009

Ticked Off and Wound Up

I was just about to write about one thing – stress – when I had to go to the bathroom. Normally, I would not include that in my post, except that while there, I found a spot on my leg. Being highly in-tuned to those sort of things, I had to investigate it further.

I suspect it was a tick.

First of all, it was small. Tiny. I don’t know how I saw it at all, as a matter of fact. I showed my kids and one said it was nothing and the other said it was a tick. I could barely see it since it was the size of a period or a dot of an ‘i’. Somehow I just knew it shouldn’t have been there. When I tried to just scrape it off, it didn’t come off.

Not being one to leave it alone, I removed it. Sure enough, it was blood. Bloody. Wet. Unlike a small puncture clot, which would have just been dry. Being the freak that I am, I took as much of it as was left to my daughter’s microscope and looked at it magnified. I couldn’t figure out what I was seeing though, since it probably exploded in the removal process.

So, I’m back. Alive. Bug free (so far as I know.)

And, as I was going to say about stress, I usually behave in two distinctly opposite ways. Sometimes I stop moving as a result of the pressure. Other times, I act so much more efficiently it’s like I’m a different person all together.

I’ve been doing a little of both. I suddenly realized that I volunteered for a crazy BIG fund-raising project. And I don’t know how to do it! I’ve been rolling up my sleeves in panic trying to get organized. But I need to stop now and then to catch my breath and remind myself that I’ll manage. Or I’ll wreck the largest money maker at our school. One of the two.

But not only that, I’ve got a couple other irons in the fire that require my devotion and instead of spending my last week-and-a-half of summer lazy and relaxed, I’m building momentum to make the Tasmanian Devil look like slow motion.

And my house is a mess, laundry isn’t done and there isn’t enough caffeine in the world.

Leave a Reply

Categories

