Posted by: canthold | February 9, 2010

Eureka!

I really don’t know if I’m coming or going. I was just going to write a post about how I lost my wedding ring and realized, I already did! That entry was going to be as a prelude to this little bit of news:

I found my ring.

I called upon St. Anthony, the Patron Saint of Lost Things. I recited the little rhyme and looked around for something that was lost and had to be found. I looked in a drawer that pretty much only holds my hair dryer and found an earring that had been missing for a while.  I looked some more in a few of the same places that I’ve already looked a thousand times and there was my ring.

When I first lost it, I wasn’t too, too upset because I just knew it had to be somewhere in my house. Then, the thought that maybe I had found it, worn it to work, took it off to put lotion on and then it disappeared haunted me for a while. But even as I eliminated the possibility that it was gone forever, I just couldn’t find it. It had to be somewhere, but it was no where to be found.

The funny part is what I was feeling about my ring. I love this ring. I think it’s just beautiful. I missed it. I couldn’t justify replacing it if I hadn’t found it. But I didn’t want to go on without something. I decided to buy a simple band that I could wear with it if I had both of them together. While I was at the jewelers, I told the woman behind the counter about the ring that was lost and she pulled one out that looked just like it. I compared the band that I picked out alongside the twin and placed my order. I’m supposed to pick it up tomorrow.

I don’t technically have to buy it still, but I think that having a plain band would be a practical alternative to wearing this ring when I need to use my hands. Maybe I could even just leave it on all the time and never take it off. We’ll see. In any case, it’s good to have my old friend back on my hand. It’s so sparkle-y.

And perhaps I should get a jewelry box, too, while I’m at it…

Leave a Reply

Categories

