Posted by: canthold | March 8, 2010

Nearly Normal

So much for “normal.” I got a call to work tomorrow. This is a good thing. Except that I don’t know who will be watching my kids just yet.

And I had the most productive day today. Ever.

In between the sunshine and hail, I never got out to run or bike, which I had hoped for, but that’s okay. I worked up a sweat cleaning house, strange as it may seem. I cleaned my kitchen top to bottom, including the front of my fridge, which is now white again. And I took down my Christmas cards. And I swept everything and vacuumed all the spiders in my living room to keep the dust bunnies in the vacuum company. I did so much that I can’t even list them all here.

Everything looks fantastic except for the stuff that has yet to be done. I can’t even continue cleaning because my hands are busy patting myself on the back.

I even prepared two meals for myself from scratch! For lunch I had a salad with different kinds of lettuce that I cut up myself (and rinsed and “spun” dry.) I also cut up mushrooms and included some feta with a balsamic vinaigrette. For dinner, I had Minestrone soup that I got from a can that opened all by myself with a hand-cranked can opener! I am quite the gourmet! In case you’re wondering if I even know the meaning of the word “scratch” I’ll inform you that I had to put a pot on the stove and turn on the burner to distract you from your fact-finding mission. And did I mention that it was organic?

Alas, my feet hurt, the kids are fighting and I’m running out of steam.

But the house is clean.

Cleanish.

Leave a Reply

Categories

