Posted by: canthold | May 5, 2010

Spiders and Spinning in Spring

And I thought the spiders had arrived already. Well, there is absolutely no mistaking that they’re here NOW.

First of all, I think there is a spider in the foot well of the drivers side of my car. A few times I’ve felt a tickle on my leg, only to feel a tickle on my hand as I go to scratch it. No confirmed sightings, but it makes for an uncomfortable drive home. Then yesterday, I went to put my visor down and something dropped. I think it was a spider in a tight ball. I’m not sure, though I don’t keep anything in my visor, because when I swatted it to the (unfortunately closed) window, I never saw it again. (And yes, that would mean that it’s still in the car.)

Then there are all the sticky webs I walk into inside my house. That’s a big YUCK! And the giant cellar spider that was in my upstairs bathroom. I knew it was in the corner and hadn’t vacuumed it up, but last night found it in the sink. I was strangely obsessed with watching it struggle up the sides of the sink trying to get out – confident it wouldn’t – but intrigued and freaked-out at the same time by its persistence and eventual success. That guy was huge, and of course, no where to be found today.

The rain has dwindled down and our storms are further and further apart. As a result, my allergies are getting harder to control. They’re not impossible, but just a bit more present than they have been up until now. I even had vertigo in the middle of the night last night. That was not fun, but it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.

And today is my cat’s third birthday. We’re not entirely certain because we got her from someone who saved her as a feral kitten, (and raised her by hand and bottle) so she’s the best cat ever. But today is the day we suspect is her birthday. Happy Cinco de Mayo Birthday Pearl.

Leave a Reply

Categories

