Posted by: canthold | May 10, 2010

The Thing

Last night I woke up to the sounds of chirping. Or cheeping, rather. As I rose to a level of wakefulness and opened my eyes, I saw that my cat had something in her mouth and the dog wanted in on it. I followed my cat from the bathroom door to the bedroom door trying to see what it was. She dropped it, but without my glasses, I still couldn’t tell. By the time I went back to the nightstand, put on my glasses and returned, The Thing had run off.

Even at my mellow, just awoken state, I knew that I didn’t want some critter running around my bedroom. The cat didn’t know where it was, so I started moving things to see underneath. Because I’m such a slob, I had some clothes on the floor and when I picked up a shirt, I saw The Thing.

Quickly, I dropped the shirt on it again and scooped up The Thing inside. I carried it up the stairs and out the front door where I shook it out. It hit the deck and ran for cover. I’m still not sure what it was. It could have been a mouse. It was the right size for a mouse. The curious thing that I can’t get out of my mind is the tail – or lack of. It almost looked like a hampster, but those don’t run wild around here, do they? And it was almost too tiny to be a hampster.

Either way, it’s gone. The cat, not knowing that I took it outside spent a while searching for it, too. That was humorous. The thought occurred to me to off The Thing, but I was in no position to kill the little critter at that hour. And what was I going to do, kill it with my bare hands? No thank you. And please don’t send in suggestions. I like the live and let live unless I have to do otherwise approach to life.

Responses

  1. I am beyond impressed that you picked The Thing up and carried it outside. I would have locked it in the bedroom and slept elsewhere. But I’m a chicken about Things.

  2. My guess: a California Vole.


Leave a Reply

Categories

