Posted by: canthold | May 11, 2010

Stuff and Junk

I started cleaning my daughter’s room last night. I swore I wouldn’t do it again, but a good hour or so into it, I couldn’t remember what compelled me to start it in the first place. I’m pretty sure I had a reason. In any case, I stepped back and hoped that I wasn’t on hidden camera for the TV show Hoarders.

What is it about stuff? It’s always your stuff and other people’s junk, too. I can look at my kids things and know what I think should be discarded and know what they think shouldn’t be. I filled one bag with trash and another with items to donate and there is still a giant pile yet to be tackled. All this when the other daughter – who’s next – and I had a fight, with tears (hers) and everything about how I never take her to this one store to buy stuff when she asks to go. Hmmm…let me see…because her bedroom is already full of junk right now!

The rule that I have is that if they clean they decide the outcome. If I clean, I do. It seems to be win-win. They don’t want to clean and I want to get rid of stuff junk.

Responses

  1. I constantly remind my girls that if I end up cleaning their room, I’m going in with a trash bag and they won’t like the end result. So they “clean,” but only sort of.

  2. Maybe you should institute if they want to add something (buy something from a store) they have to get rid of something from their room first. The downside or loophole is the better term is they will discard 7 items, show them to you and say that’s 7 items I can buy/add – let’s go shopping.


Leave a Reply

Categories

