Posted by: canthold | July 7, 2010

Take an eight-legged memo…

Not last night but the night before (twenty-four robbers came knocking at my door) I was on the computer in my office and I did the requisite spider search. I looked in each corner and every nook-and-cranny and there was only one tiny cellar spider about the size of a dime. I was a little surprised because I hadn’t been in there in a while and there should have had more. At least I would have thought so.

Last night I was on my laptop and it was super-duper slow. The network was super-duper slow, I should clarify. So today because I had a million things to procrastinate, I went to troubleshoot my network. I went to that same computer in my office and did the same spider scan as always when lo-and-behold! Three spiders. Or so I thought.

The dime-sized spider in the corner had grown past a quarter size. It seemed pretty fast, but it happens, right? Spiders grow.

Then – well, I should preface this by saying that I’m practically un-phased by the cellar spiders now under most normal circumstances – I saw two larger cellar spiders on the other side of my office. One in a deeper corner, but the other was setting up shop right in the doorway. Which means it was practically dangling over me as I walked in. That phases me.

And each of them had an egg sack on its back. I should say on her back, but I don’t want to make any attachments to them. The thought of hundreds more spiders immediately gave me the willies and I ducked out to get my spider-sucker (vacuum.) When I came back, I saw that in the corner above the door, there were about six little smaller-that-a-dime-sized babies already roaming around and now they’re not.

There are no more spiders in my office.

Responses

  1. I don’t know how you do it. I think I’d have to move.


Leave a Reply

Categories

